Nigeria Newspapers Online

Equatorial Guinea’s Nsue, Lookman, other AFCON top scorers

Must Read

As the ongoing African Cup of Nations holding in Cote D’Iviore is gradually coming to an end, some players have made a mark by putting their names on the scoresheet of the tournament.

The final of the tournament is between the hosts, Elephants and the Super Eagles of Nigeria, on Sunday, February 11.

The hosts beat DR Congo 1-0, thanks to Sabatien Haller’s overhead kick in the 65th minute.

The Eagles soared above Bafana Bafana of South Africa on 4-2 penalty shoot-outs.

Emilio Nsue, the captain of unfancied Equatorial Guinea, netted five times in the group stage and couldn’t advance his tally after his team crashed out of Round 16 against Guinea Conakry.

Nsue scored twice in a 4-0 win over the hosts in their final group game, having netted three in a 4-2 win over Guinea-Bissau, the first Cup of Nations hat-trick since 2008.

Aside from Nsue, below are other goal scorers of the tournament and their goal tallies.

Gelson Dala (ANG), Mohamed (EGY) – 4 goals

Bayo (GUI), Bounedjah (ALG), Lookman (NGR), Mabululu (ANG), Sinayoko (MLI), Traore (BUR) – 3

J. Ayew, Kudus (both GHA), Camara, H. Diallo (both SEN), Mokoena, Zwane (both RSA), Mendes (CPV), Troost-Ekong (NGR), Wissa (COD) – 2

Adingra, Diakite, Fofana, Haller, Kessie, Krasso (all CIV), Bebe, Monteiro, Pina, Rodrigues, G. Tavares, Teixeira (all CPV), P. Gueye, Mane, I. Sarr, Seck, I. Ndiaye (all SEN), Hakimi, En-Nesyri, Ounahi, Saiss, Ziyech (all MAR), Buyla, Edu, Ganet, Miranda (all GEQ), Castelletto, Magri, Toko Ekambi, Wooh (all CMR), Catamo, Clesio, Reinildo, Witi (all MOZ), Elia, Masuaku, Mbemba, Silas (all COD), Amar, Dellah Yaly, Koita (all MTN), Makgopa, Maseko, Tau (all RSA), Marmoush, Salah, Trezeguet (all EGY), E. Colley, Jallow (both GAM), Daka, Kangwa (both ZAM), Dorgeles, H. Traore (both MLI), Gilberto, Zini (both ANG), A. Camara (GUI), Djiku (GHA), Hotto (NAM), M. Konate (BUR), Msuva (TAN), Osimhen (NGR), Rafia (TUN), Ze Turbo (GNB) – 1

Own goals: Gomez (GAM), Orozco (GEQ), Sangante (GNB), E. Tapsoba (BUR).

Nigeria Newspapers Telelgram
Nigerian Gospel Radio
Nigerian Gospel Radio

You may 've missed...

Latest Updates

See More Stories Like This