Yobe: Live up to expectations – Buni charges newly-promoted professors

Yobe State Governor and Chairman, All Progressives Congress (APC) Caretaker Extraordinary Convention Planning Committee, Hon. Mai Mala Buni, has tasked newly promoted Professors, Associate Professors and Doctors at the Yobe State University to live up to the yearning and expectations of people in the state.

The Governor who felicitated with them in a statement signed on Friday by his Director-General, Press and Media Affairs, Mamman Mohammed, described the elevation of the academic staff as an indication of growth in research and improvement in intellectual activities in the university.

“I am personally elated with this development as it adds to the quality of research, teaching and other academic activities in the institution, as well as, the individual growth of our lecturers.

“I pray to Almighty Allah to bless these promotions and make it beneficial to the beneficiaries, the state, Nigeria and humanity.


“It is often said, to whom much is given, much is equally expected. And with these promotions, we have equally risen the bar of our expectations from you, hoping you will live up to our new expectations”, Gov. Buni added.

According to the Governor, Yobe State University is becoming a new hub of intellectual growth and development and expressed the commitment of his administration to support the advancement of education in the state.

He commended the good people of the state, philanthropists, friends, associates and corporate organizations for supporting the government at the launch of the Appeal Fund to improve the quality of education in the state.

DAILY POST gathered that the Governing Council of Yobe State University (YSU) at its 31st meeting held on 3rd March 2022 approved the promotion of 12 members of its academic staff to the rank of Associate Professors and a Professor.

Those promoted to the rank of Associate Professor include: Dr. Sheriff Garba; Dr. Adam Muh’d Jatkawy; Dr. Mohammed Musa Lawan; Dr. Mahdi Alhaji Musa; Dr. Umar Lawan and Dr. Ahmed Ibrahim Butu

Others are Dr. Atiya Rahamtalla Fadlalla; Dr. Mohammed Bukar Ngamdu; Dr. Bukar Jamri; Dr. Umar Yusuf Madaki; Dr. Usman Mustapha Abubakar; Dr. Musa Grema, while Dr. Clifford Irikefe Gbeyonron was prompted to the rank of Professor.