PDP wins Kaduna Senatorial, Reps seats

dafcdde pdplogo
dafcdde pdplogo



The Peoples Democratic Party has won the three Senatorial seats in Saturday’s presidential and National Assembly elections in Kaduna State.

The main opposition party also won 10 seats out of the total 16 seats for the House of Representatives in the state.

The Central North Senatorial district seat was won by Lawal Usman of the PDP who  polled 225,066 votes to defeat the former Chief of Staff and Commissioner for Budget and Planning to Governor Nasir El-rufai, Abdullahi Sani of the All Progressives Congress, who garnered 182,035 votes.

According to the Returning Officer, Prof. Haruna Adamu of the Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria, the candidate of the Labour Party, Ibrahim Sani came third with 87,510 votes while Umar Tijjani of the New Nigeria Peoples Party, polled 24,395 votes to place fourth.

The Kaduna Central Senatorial district was won by Senator Uba Sani of the APC.

The PDP also clinched the Kaduna North Senatorial District won by its candidate, Khalid Mustapha, who defeated the incumbent Senator Suleiman Kwari of the APC.

The INEC Returning Officer, Prof. Saleh Ado, while announcing the results in Zaria, said Mustapha scored 250,826 votes to defeat Kwari, who got 190,008 votes.

He said Labour Party’s Sidi Bamalli scored 28,418, while Adamu Rabi’u of the Social Democratic Party polled 315 votes.

Also, in Kaduna South Senatorial district, a former member of the House of Representatives, Sunday Katung of the PDP won the seat.

Katung polled 138,246 votes to defeat his closest opponent, Michael Auta of the LP, who scored 101,479 votes.

The results of the district was announced in Kafanchan by INEC Returning Officer, Prof. Abdullahi Dalhatu.

The PDP also won 10 seats out of the total 16 seats for House of Representatives in the state, while the APC won four seats and the LP won two seats.

The PDP won the following seats: Makarfi/Kudan federal constituency, Sabon Gari federal constituency, Soba federal constituency, Ikara/Kubau federal constituency, Jema’a/Sanga federal constituency, Kauru federal constituency, Kagarko/Kachia federal constituency, Zangon Kataf/Jaba federal constituency, Igabi federal constituency.

The APC candidates won Birnin Gwari/Giwa federal constituency, Kaduna North federal constituency, Lere federal constituency, Zaria federal constituency.

The two seats won by the Labour Party are Kaura Federal Constituency and Chikun/Kajuru federal constituency.