Olubadan stool: Ibadan High Chiefs meet, decline comments on announcement of new monarch

Some High Chiefs in Ibadan, the Oyo State capital, on Tuesday, met at the palace of the Olubadan of Ibadan land.

The official palace of Olubadan is located at Oja’ba area of Ibadan, the state capital.

DAILY POST gathered that the High Chiefs met in order to announce the new Olubadan of Ibadan land.

The Olubadan stool became vacant due to the death of the immediate past Olubadan of Ibadan land, Oba Saliu Akanmu Adetunji, DAILY POST recalls.

Oba Adetunji joined his ancestors on Sunday, January 2nd 2020 at the age of 93.

Our correspondent, who was at the venue of the meeting, learnt that the meeting was called by the Olubadan Advisory Council, in order for the High Chiefs who are kingmakers to announce the new monarch.

The Olubadan Advisory Council had last week said that the kingmakers would today (January 11) announce the new monarch.

Some of the High Chiefs at the meeting included: the Balogun of Ibadan land, High Chief Owolabi Olakulehin, High Chief Tajudeen Ajibola, High Chief Eddy Oyewole Como, High Chief Abiodun Kola-Daisi and High Chief Lateef Gbadamosi Adebimpe.


Also at the venue was President-General, Central Council of Ibadan Indigenes (CCII), Chief Oluyemisi Adeaga.

But, a former governor of the state, Senator Rasidi Adewolu Ladoja, did not attend the meeting.

Ladoja, who governed the state between 2003 and 2007, is the current Osi Olubadan of Ibadan land.

But, the High Chiefs who were present at the meeting did not make any announcement as expected.

Journalists who were at the venue were surprised when some of the High Chiefs left the venue without any comment.

All efforts made by journalists to know whether the meeting was held and outcome of the meeting proved to be abortive.

Some of the High Chiefs who were accosted by journalists refused to speak.

DAILY POST gathered that the meeting of the kingmakers will only be validly constituted with the attendance of Osi Olubadan, Otun Balogun, Osi Balogun, Ashipa Balogun, Ekerin Balogun and Iyalode, Seriki (vacant), Otun Balogun, Osi Balogun, Ashipa Balogun and Ekerin Balogun during the selection proper.