Barcelona crowned La Liga Champions

a barcelona x
a barcelona x

By Kazeem Ugbodaga

FC Barcelona have been crowned La Liga champions for the 27th time on Sunday after they defeated Espanyol 2-4 away from home.

Robert Lewandowski opened scoring on 11 minutes after receiving a killer pass, found himself one-on-one with the goalkeeper and coolly fired the ball into the middle of the net.

Nine minutes later, Barcelona doubled their lead. Pedri sent a precise lofted cross into the box. Alejandro Balde latched on to it and finished with a quick shot inside the left post.

It was 0-3 for the visitors on 40th minute. Raphinha played a simple square pass into the feet of Lewandowski in the box, who composed himself and lashed the ball into the bottom left corner for his brace.

Barcelona made it 0-4 on 52 minutes after Frenkie de Jong sent a superb cross into the box. Jules Kounde latched on to it and from near the penalty spot powered a header inside the right post, leaving Fernando Pacheco beaten.

The homers reduced the tally after Javi Puado skipped past challenges and from close range brilliantly chipped the ball over Marc-Andre ter Stegen.