Nigeria Newspapers Online

APC wins Keana state assembly seat  

Must Read

The Independent National Electoral Commission has declared the candidate of the ruling All Progressives Congress, Adamu Mohammed Omadefu as the winner of the Keana Constituency seat for Saturday’s Nasarawa State House of Assembly rerun election.

The election in the constituency followed an order by the Appeal Court sitting in Abuja in November 2023.

The election was held in five of the poling units in Agaza ward of Keana Local Government Area, namely; Kofar Sarki 001, Kofar Inuwa 002, Central Primary School A 003, Central Primary School B 004, as well as Kofar Gazagu 005.

Our correspondent reports that no fewer than 2,310 residents of the area collected their permanent voter cards during last year’s distribution exercise by the Independent National Electoral Commission.

Declaring the result of the election, the Returning Officer for the election, Dr. Hassan Imam, said the APC candidate got 557 votes to defeat his closet rival, Basil Osheka of the Peoples Democratic Party who scored 470.

He explained that the votes gotten by each candidate would be added to the votes scored by the candidates during the March 18, 2023, general elections.

Dr. Hassan therefore, said adding the rerun election votes, the APC candidate now has a total of 8,069 votes while the candidate of PDP scored 7917.

“That Adamu Mohammed Omadefu of the APC having satisfied the requirements of the law, is hereby declared the winner and he is returned elected,” he said.

Reacting to his victory, the APC candidate, Omadefu expressed gratitude to the people of Agaza electoral ward and the entire Keana LGA for their love and support and promised to consolidate on his previous achievements.

Nigeria Newspapers Telelgram
Nigerian Gospel Radio
Nigerian Gospel Radio

You may 've missed...

How we dealt with Plateau criminals — Military

How we dealt with Plateau criminals — Military Published By: Paul Dada The special military task force in charge of the security of Plateau and parts of Bauchi and Kaduna states, code-named Operation Safe Haven (OPSH),

Latest Updates

See More Stories Like This