3 judges to face NJC special panel over conflicting orders

Also at the meetings held on Wednesday and Thursday, Council further resolved to set up a Medical Board to ascertain the health status of Justice Amina Yaroson of the Kaduna State Customary Court of Appeal.

NJC is statutorily saddled with powers to discipline judicial officers. A statement issued on Friday by NJC Director of Information, Mr. Soji Oye, explained that the probe panel was constituted in line with the principles of fair hearing. Names of the three judges and areas of jurisdiction were however not disclosed in the statement. Council, however, dismissed the petitions written against Justices Inyang Eden

Ekwo and Ayo-Emmanuel of the Federal High Court; Justices O. O. Ogunjobi, S. B. A. Candide-Johnson and S. A. Onigbanjo of High Court of Lagos State; Justices Chiwendu Nwogu, S. C. Amadi and A. U. Kingsley Chuku, for either lacking in merit, subjudice or statute barred.

Other petitions dismissed for the same reasons were those written against Justice I. K. Banu, Chief Judge, of Adamawa; Justice A. L. Lagre, president, Customary Court of Appeal, Adamawa; Justice Felibus B. Andetur, Chief Judge, Taraba State; and Justice Sunday Olorundahunsi of Ondo State, High Court.

The rest are those against Justice Nse Emeka Daniel of Akwa-Ibom State High Court and Justice H. T. D. Gwadah of Kaduna State High Court.