2023: Buhari, Tinubu, others to kick- off APC campaign with prayers, peace walk

bbc jtbtuih bu x
bbc jtbtuih bu x

The ruling All Progressives Congress, APC will kick off its campaign for the 2023 presidential election with prayers and Peace Walk on Wednesday by members of its Presidential Campaign Council headed by President Muhammadu Buhari.

According to the Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC’s timetable, campaign for the 2023 presidential election will formally take off across the country on Wednesday.

APC, has scheduled the inauguration of its over 400- member Presidential Campaign Council for 8 a.m. of the same day.

However, Bayo Onanuga, Director, Media and Publicity APC Presidential Campaign Council said in a statement on Sunday that aside the inauguration, members nominated into the Council are also expected to participate in the special prayer sessions marking the commencement of the 2023 presidential election campaigns.

He added that there will be a Peace Walk immediately after the prayers while all nominees will be issued their letters of appointment same day.

The inauguration of the 422-member by President Muhammadu Buhari was earlier scheduled for today, Monday, 26, September.

According to the list of members of the council released in Abuja on Saturday, Sen. Bola Tinubu, the party’s 2023 presidential candidate and Abdullahi Adamu, its National chairman, are to serve as deputy chairmen of the council .

Gov. Simon Lalong of Plateau is the Director General with James Faleke as secretary of the council.

Sen. Kashim Shettima, the party’s Vice-Presidential candidate is the vice chairman of the council and Adams Oshiomhole, former APC National Chairman is the deputy director-general (Operations) while Hadiza usman is the deputy director-general (Admin).

The 422-man campaign council has Gov. Atiku Bagudu of Kebbi and Chairman Progressive Governors Forum (PGF), as Vce Chairman and state Coordinator.

Godswill Akpabio, former Akwa-Ibom Governor, is vice chairmen (South-South and Uju Kennedy, the former female APC presidential aspirant is vice chairman South-East.

Gov. Badaru Abubakar of Jigawa is the Regional Co-ordinator and Chairman for North and his state, Gov. David Umahi of Ebonyi, regional co-ordinator South and Ebonyi; Gov. Ben Ayade of Cross River is regional director South-south and Ebonyi.

Gov. Rotimi Akeredolu is zonal co-ordinator for South-West and Ondo State; Gov. Abubakar Sani Bello is the zonal co-ordinator for North-central and his state.

Gov. Muhammed Yahaha is zonal co-ordinator for the North-East and Gombe and Gov. Bello Matawalle is the zonal co-ordinator for the North-West and Zamfara.
The list showed that all APC governors are co-ordinators of the presidential council in their respective states and where there was no sitting governors of the party, its governorship candidates were the co-ordinators.


Others appointed were Gov. Yahaha Bello of Kogi as National Youth Co-ordinator, Felix Nicholas, Deputy National Youth Co-ordinator; Festus Keyamo, spokesperson, Chris Tarka, deputy secretary, Gov. Kayode Fayemi is the Co-ordinator for Ekiti State and Adviser Foreign Affairs.

Senate President Ahmad Lawan is made Senior Adviser on strategic planning, Femi Gbajabiamila, Adviser on Legal Matters, Aliyu Wamako, former Sokoto State Governor, Adviser on Special Duties.

Rotimi Amaechi, is adviser on infrastructure; Ibikunle Amosun, adviser on contacts and mobilisation; Dele Alake, Adviser on Media, Communications and Public Affairs.

Others are Abdullahi Ganduje, adviser politcal affairs and Kano coordinator; Nasir El-rufai, coordinator, Kaduna State and senior adviser, policy, strategy and enforcement and Abdulrahaman Danbazzau adviser, strategic engagement.

Faleke, Secretary to the council, advised all nominees to pick their appointment letters on Monday at the APC presidential campaign office.


The All Progressives Congress Presidential Campaign Council wishes to inform all members nominated to serve in the various directorates to report at the campaign headquarters on Wednesday 28 September 2022 at 8 a.m.

Nominated members are expected to participate in the special prayer sessions marking the commencement of the 2023 presidential election campaigns.

There will be a Peace Walk immediately after the prayers. All nominees will be issued their letters of appointment same day.

On behalf of the Chairman of the campaign council, President Muhammadu Buhari, our candidate, Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu and his running mate, Senator Kashim Shettima, we congratulate all members of the campaign council.

We know this is a call to serve our great party that will demand total commitment and sacrifice from all of us. It is the council’s strong belief that all members will work hard to deliver a resounding victory for our great party in the 2023 Presidential election.

We also want to use this medium to express our profound gratitude to all support groups registered with the campaign council. We are aware you have been working assiduously to promote our candidates and the party across the 36 states and FCT. The party and the candidates acknowledge your hardwork and great financial and human resources that have been voluntarily expended since we began this journey. We urge you to continue your good work. The PCC will work with the support groups as we move along into the campaign season.

We encourage other groups yet to formally register with the PCC to do so immediately for proper harmonisation.

*Bayo Onanuga*
Director, Media and Publicity
APC Presidential Campaign Council