By Alemma-Ozioruva Aliu

THE member representing Akoko-Edo Federal Constituency in the House of Representatives, Peter Appatason has denied allegations by his Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) opponent in March 28 National Assembly elections, Oladele Bankole-Balogun that the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) announced the results handed over to them by him and not the actual results from the fields.Akpatason

Bankole-Balogun had filed papers at the tribunal demanding that he be declared winner of the election, as he alleged that Appatason was not duly elected and that his said election as declared by INEC did not comply substantially with the Electoral Act. He alleged acts of irregularities.He alleged that Appatason had inflated the results of ward 9, where he hails from and coerced the INEC to announce the results, which according to him was inflated in favour of Akpatason and that he personally brought results from his Uneme-Nekhua to INEC’s collation centre. Read More →

Viewed 2292 times by 835 viewers

The Presidential Candidate of the All Progressives Congress, Gen. Muhammadu Buhari, has defeated the candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party, President Goodluck Jonathan, in Saturday’s presidential election Kwara State.Muhammadu-Buhari

According to the results from the 16 local government areas of the state collated on Monday morning and anchored by the state Returning Officer, Prof. Musbau Akanji, Buhari polled 302,146 votes to defeat Jonathan who garnered 132,602 votes.

Akanji who is also the Vice-Chancellor, Federal University of Technology, Minna, Niger State, said 1,181,032 electorate registered
in the state. Read More →

Viewed 2621 times by 1006 viewers

The INEC on Sunday declared candidates of the All Progressives Congress (APC) winners of Lagos Island Federal Constituencies 1 and 2 in Lagos State.

Mrs Martha Amadi, the Returning Officer for the Lagos Island Federal Constituency 1, said that Mr Enitan Badru of the APC polled 15,389 votes to beat Mr Lukman Oladipo of the PDP who secured 5,732 votes.

“I hereby declare Hon. Badru, winner of the election; he won the highest votes and satisfied the requirements of the election,’’ Amadi said. Read More →

Viewed 1862 times by 788 viewers