The Niger state House of Assembly has impeached its Speaker, Alhaji Adamu Usman, and elected Alhaji Isa Kawu as the new Speaker.

This impeachment was carried out as some members were barred from accessing the complex Tuesday morning by a combined team of security personnel from the Police, SSS and the Civil Defence Corps.Adamu-Usman

Eighteen members out of 27 voted for Usman’s impeachment motion moved by Mr Jacob Maaji (Lavun) and seconded by Mr Ibrahim Dama (Katcha).

Other newly elected officials included Alhaji Bello Agwara, Deputy Speaker; Hajiya Sa’adatu Kolo (Mashegu), Chief Whip, and Alhaji Yusuf Kure as Majority Leader.

After his swearing in by the Clerk of the House, Kawu pledged to ensure a harmonious working relationship in the legislature within the short period remaining.

“We will ensure that our legislative duty continued as usual and our oversight functions will be strengthened for better results to the people,” he said.

Reacting to his removal outside the Assembly complex, Usman told newsmen that the impeachment was null and void, insisting that he remains the speaker.

He said that the Chief Judge of the state has given an order restraining the House, the Clerk and security agencies from recognising the new officials.

Usman added that no allegation was levelled against him that could warrant his removal.

Viewed 1609 times by 630 viewers

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Post Navigation