ACTING President, Dr. Goodluck Jonathan, has set up a Presidential Advisory Council to provide alternative inputs into policy formation, promote good governance in the areas of power, economy, security, infrastructure, social sector, the electoral process, and the fight against corruption, among others.
This was contained in a statement released and signed by Mr. Ima Niboro, Senior Special Assistant to the Acting President on Media/Publicity.

Though the committee was not named as a probe panel, it was gathered that fears have gripped ministers that the report of the committee may indict them.

It was gathered that for sometime now, some members of the federal executive have taken advantage of the health condition of President Yar’Adua to constitute themselves into sacred cows who could do whatever they wanted without regard for government policies and regulations.

There  are also some ministers said to have acted above the law because of their closeness to the recuperating Yar’Adua.

These excesses, it was learnt, accounted for low level of performance of the past budgets and the economic stagnation of the country.

According to Niboro, other terms of reference of the council headed by former  Minister of Defence, Lt. Gen. Theophilous Danjuma, include  to evaluate policy implementation and advise on areas requiring adjustments; to advise the president on how to maximise the benefits derivable from government’s efforts; to advise on such actions and programmes that may improve credibility and performance of the government, and advise on any other matter referred to it by the president.

Foremost constitutional lawyer, Professor Ben Nwabueze, will serve as deputy chairman.

Other members are Mr. Fola Adeola;  Mallam Abubakar Gimba; Mr. Basil Omiyi; Alhaji M. D. Yusufu; Chief Emeka Anyaoku;  Ambassador  G. B. Preware; Professor Bartholomew Nnaji, and Mr. Kase Lawal.

Also included in the council are Mallam Muhammed Hayatuddeen; Justice Alfa Belgore; Honourable Chibudom Nwuche; Mrs. Mobola Johnson; Hajiya Halita Aliyu;    Alhaji Magaji Danbatta; Professor B. G. Bajoga; Dr. (Mrs) Sally Bolujoko; Mrs. Mariam Uwais, and Chief Kanu Agabi.

Other members are Dr. Bamanga Tukur;  Alhaji Ismaila Isa; Professor Shehu Said Sarinwata, and  Dr. Simon C. Okolo. The Chairman, National Economic Summit Group, Mr Sam Ohuanbuwa is also a member.

Dr Jonathan also set up a Federal Projects Assessment Committee to assess and provide necessary information on the status of ongoing Federal Government projects across the nation.

A statement signed on Monday night by Niboro said Mr Bon Otti would serve as vice-chairman on the committee.

Other members are Mr Iboro Ege-Edaba, Mr Yomi Awoniyi, Navy Captain Caleb Olubolade (rtd), Professor Aminu Mikailu, Engineer (Dr) Idris Abubakar, Engineer Pius Okpa, Mrs Kate Okparake, Engineer Usman Abubakar, Engineer Gbola Tokun, Engineer Etodo Inyang, Professor Akoh N. Ugbabe, Engineer Ummi Aminu, Engineer Olusegun Adedeji, Engineer Khalil Inuwa and Engineer B. K. Mohammed.

Dr O. O. Oluleye, of the office of Secretary of the Government of the Federation is the secretary.

Viewed 3199 times by 1524 viewers

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Post Navigation