Written by Uchenna Awom:

Professor Dora Akunyili, the immediate past Minister of Information and Communication, and her counterpart in the National Planning Ministry, Dr. Shamsudeen Usman, made the second list of ministerial nominees forwarded to the Senate by Acting President Goodluck Jonathan and formally unveiled by Senate President David Mark yesterday.

The acting president also forwarded additional names on the list of new nominees to the Senate. Prominent among them are the Chief of Staff to the Deputy Speaker of the House of Representatives, Alhaji Abubakar Sadiq Mohammed (Gombe), and Senator Jubril Martins Kuye (Ogun), a well-known acolyte of former President Olusegun Obasanjo.

Others on the list are: Alhaji Yusuf Suleiman (Sokoto), Prof. Ruqayya Rufai (Jigawa), Arch. Musa Sada (Katsina), Prof. Sheik Abdallah (Niger) and Capt. Emmanuel Iheanacho (Imo).

But the name of former Speaker of the House of Representatives, Alhaji Aminu Bello Masari, which was earlier touted by media reports as a possible nominee, was conspicuously missing on the list that now included nine former ministers and 24 new ones.

However, the senators openly signalled what may befall some of the nominees during the screening, which is expected to commence next week.  When the name of Daggash was mentioned by Senator Mark. Shouts of “No!  No! No!” and “No way!” followed the mention of his name.

In the letter accompanying the list, Jonathan drew the attention of the senators to the fact that on Wednesday, March 17, 2010, the Executive Council of the Federation was dissolved, with a promise that the council would soon be reconstituted.

“Accordingly, in line with the provisions of Section 147 of the 1999 Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, I forward herewith the names of the first batch of nominees for appointment as ministers of the government of the federation for the consideration and confirmation of the Senate of the Federal Republic of Nigeria”.

For ease of clarity and reference, he said, the nominees are grouped as “Re-Appointments and New Nominations.”

The reappointed nominees include: Mrs. Fidelia Akubata Njeze (Enugu), Elder Peter Godsday Orubebe (Delta), Arch. Nuhu Somo Wya (Kaduna), Chief Adetokunbo Kayode, SAN (Ondo), Mr. Henry Odein Ajumogobia, SAN (Rivers), Sen. Akinlabi Olasunkanmi (Osun), Mrs. Diezani Allison-Madueke (Bayelsa), Dr. Shamsudeen Usman (Kano), and Prof. Dora Akunyili (Anambra).

New nominees include Mr. Chukwuemeka Ngozichineke Wogu (Abia), Iyom Josephine Anenih (Anambra), Mr. Labaran Maku (Nasarawa), Engr. Chris Ogiemwonyi (Edo), Alhaji Murtala Yar’Adua (Katsina), Sen. Sanusi Daggash (Borno), Sen. Bala Mohammed (Bauchi), and Hon. Nduese Essien (Akwa Ibom).

Others are Mrs. Josephine Tapgun (Plateau), Mohammed Bello Adoke, SAN (Kogi), Navy Capt. Ernest Olubolade (rtd) (Ekiti), Mr. Olusegun Olutoyin Aganga (Lagos), Prof. M.K. Abubakar (Kebbi), Alhaji Adamu Maina Waziri (Yobe), Alhaji Umar Aliyu (Taraba), Mr. Awodele Najeem Adewale Alao (Ogun) and Alhaji Abubakar Sadiq Mohammed (Gombe).

The list also includes; Alhaji Yusuf Suleiman (Sokoto), Prof. Ruqaiya Rufai (Jigawa), Arch. Musa Sada (Katsina), Prof. Sheik Abdallah (Niger), Capt. Emmanuel Iheanacho (Imo) and Sen. Jubril Martins Kuye (Ogun).

The screening may start on Monday.

Viewed 3039 times by 1299 viewers

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Post Navigation