By Henry Umoru


ABUJA- President Muhammadu Buhari, has sacked the Chairman, Board of the Internal Revenue Board of the Federal Capital Territory, Alhaji Ari Isa Mohammed.

President Buhari also approved the sacking of the Chairman, Secondary Education Board, Dr. Moroof Akinwande and that of the Universal Basic Education Board, Alhaji Umar Barau- Ningi with immediate effect.
The sack of these chairmen was contained in a letter with reference no. SGF.19/S.81/T1/97 sent to the FCT Permanent Secretary, John Chukwu, on Wednesday by the Secretary to the Federal Government.Buhari

A statement by the FCT Deputy Director, Press, Mohammed Sule, on Thursday in Abuja quoted the letter as directing the affected chairmen to comply with the Federal Government directive on the dissolution of the governing boards of parastatals, agencies, institutions and government-owned companies.

According to the letter, “The Federal Government’s directive as contained in Circular Ref. No. SGF.19/S.81/XIX/964 on the dissolution of the Governing Boards of the Federal Government Parastatals, Agencies, Institutions and Government-owned companies remains extant.”

It noted that the directive applied to all the boards of the Federal Capital Territory parastatals, agencies, institutions and government-owned companies.

“In view of this directive, the FCT Permanent Secretary has directed the former Chairman of the FCT IRS to hand over all duties and responsibilities of his office as well as government belongings in his possession to the Director of Treasury, FCT, while the Chairmen of the Secondary Education Board and Universal Basic Education Board should hand over all duties and responsibilities of their offices as well as government belongings in their possession to the Directors/Secretaries of SEB and UBEB respectively,” the statement said.

The FCT Administration expressed its appreciation to the officials for their contributions to the development of the Federal Capital Territory and wished them success in their future endevours.

The Board of Internal Revenue with Mr. Ari, Isa Mohammed as Chairman was inaugurated by the immediate minister of the Federal Capital Territory Administration, FCTA, Senator Bala Mohammed, May 26, 2015.

Other members of the board were the Director of Treasury as the Deputy Chairman of the Board; Mr. Ese Stephen representing South-South; Mrs. Modupeola Akin-Deko-South-West; Mr. Sashe Dabana- North-Central; Alhaji Abdullahi Salhu Yari- North-East; Mrs. Ifeyinwa Rita Njokanma- South-East; Hamza Adamu Buwei- North-West.

Other members were Director of Legal Drafting, Director of Lands, Director of Area Councils, Coordinator of Abuja Infrastructure Investment Centre, Director of Economic Planning, Research and Statistics, Mr. Cosmos Uzodinma, Assistant Director, (Information) while Barrister Boma Ayerite will serve as secretary and an Ex-Officio member of the Board.

Viewed 4383 times by 1705 viewers

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Post Navigation