By Ken Abu



BENIN CITY – The Edo House of Assembly has approved the suspension of four local government chairmen for alleged diversion of funds and inability to pay staff salaries for two months.edoror
The suspension followed a request letter sent to the House by Governor Adams Oshiomhole and signed by the Secretary to the State Government, Prof. Julius Ihonvbere.
The affected chairmen are: Mr. Emmanuel Momoh, Etsako Central Local Government; Mr. Victor Enobakhare, Egor Local Government; Mr Osaro Obazee, Oredo Local Government; and Mr. Roland Ibierutonmwen of Orhionmwon Local Government.
According to the letter, the four chairmen contravened the Local Government Act by engaging in illegal employment without going through the Local Government Service Commission.
Oshiomhole stated in the letter, that the suspension of the four chairmen was to pave way for investigation into the allegations, adding that a panel of inquiry would be constituted to undertake the assignment.
The lawmakers unanimously approved the governor’s request.
Meanwhile, the speaker, Mr. Victor Edoror said the governor had the power to suspend any local government chairman found wanting.
He said that the four chairmen stood suspended for two months in the first instance.
Edoror directed the vice chairmen of the affected councils to take over the administration of the local governments.

Viewed 8056 times by 3112 viewers

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Post Navigation