By Colin Udoh:

Nigeria have been drawn with fellow West Africans Guinea for the qualifying race to the 2012 African Nations Cup to be co-hosted by Equatorial Guinea and Gabon.

The other two teams in the group are Ethiopia and Madagascar.

Nigeria and Guinea were last drawn together in the qualifying series for the FIFA 1998 World Cup.

A total of forty four teams were drawn into 11 groups. The group winners and three of the best second placed teams will qualify for the 28th African Nations Cup.

World Cup 2010 hosts South Africa have been handed a testing draw in Group 7 with defending champions Egypt, Sierra Leone and Niger.

Equatorial Guinea and Gabon qualify automatically as co-hosts.

The Full draw:

Group 1
Mali, Cape Verde, Zimbabwe, Liberia

Group 2
Nigeria, Guinea, Ethiopia, Madagascar

Group 3
Zambia, Mozambique, Libya, Comores

Group 4
Algeria, Morocco, Tanzania, Central African Republic

Group 5
Cameroon, Senegal, DR Congo, Mauritius

Group 6
Burkina Faso, Gambia, Namibia, Mauritania

Group 7
Egypt, South Africa, Sierra Leone, Niger

Group 8
Ivory Coast, Benin, Rwanda, Burundi

Group 9
Ghana, Congo, Sudan, Swaziland

Group 10
Angola, Uganda, Kenya, Guinea-Bissau

Group 11
Tunisia, Malawi, Chad, Botswana

Viewed 4327 times by 1551 viewers

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Post Navigation